What a surprising title … but this is less to do with hedgehogs and more to do with Hedgehog II GTX … as in one of the most inappropriately named items of footwear I have ever come across. I wrote about this in my book – A Prickly Affair – and was reminded when I went by a shop window in town today and saw this:

Apart from the peculiar marriage of hedgehogs and off-road trail-running shoe – what really annoyed me was that no one at The North Face would answer my simple question of WHY … why choose that name. Oh – and my subtle hint that I would look just great in them seemed not to have been noticed by their marketing department … which is good, because I tried them on and they are made for people with pencil feet – thin thin thin – I am blessed with modified spades on the end of my legs – square – a bit like me really.

Unrelated to shoes – but the RSPB put out a press release which quotes me and it was fascinating to see how appalling the journalism in even some of the best written papers can be. For example, The Daily Telegraph manages to muddle rather key facts: “Hugh Warwick, a hedgehog expert at the RSPB, said intensive farming is forcing hedgehogs from the town into the country.” So, apart from the fact that I am not at the RSPB, I am intrigued as to how intensive farming might be forcing hedgehogs out of towns!

Any more strange hedgehog stuff out there? Please let me know. Thanks.

