So Chepstow bookshop organised an event for me last night – a great little indy and over 100 people turned up to hear me meander around the subject of hedgehogs – my first book-signing event – me and a little table and a queue of people. I felt really rather happy … but then found out that the week before they had had Alan Titchmarsh speaking there and had over 200 people – bahh.

And tonight Blackwells in Oxford – then home, pack bag and get a coach at 3am to get me to the Eurostar for a 0553 … what was I thinking when I booked that ticket? There is quite possibly a portion of me that is a self-flagelist … no other explanation. 

I think that there is going to come a point in the near future when I just collapse … hope I can last until xmas – at least there will then be another adult about to assist … but for now all I crave is sleep – and will have to make do with an espresso …

at least some of the most heavenly music is percolating through my soul – ein Deutsches Requiem – the sublime Berlin Phil.

x

